top of page

RACE for 2030 CRC

Establishment Board  


Louise Sylvan AM FAICD


Louise is an Adjunct Professor at the University of Sydney, Chair of Energy Consumers Australia, a director of the Australian Risk Policy Institute and Vice-Chair of the Australian Advisory Board on Impact Investment. 


She was previously CEO for the Australian National Preventative Health Agency, a Commissioner of the Productivity Commission, and Deputy Chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.


Louise has also been Chief Executive of CHOICE-Australian Consumers’ Association, President of the global body Consumers International and served six years on the Prime Minister’s Economic Planning Advisory Council. Louise is also the Deputy Chair of Impact Investing Australia’s Innovation and Outcomes Working Group.


Katherine Woodthorpe AO

Deputy Chair

Katherine is an experienced, non-executive director, who has served for 19 years on the boards of a variety of organisations, including ASX listed companies, government boards, not-for-profit organisations, and research institutions like the Olivia Newton John Cancer Research Institute. She has a strong track record in a broad range of technology-focused industries including healthcare, the environment and data analytics.

Katherine currently Chairs the Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre, The Hearing Cooperative Research Centre and Fishburners, which is Australia’s largest co-working space for tech start-ups. Katherine was recently appointed by the Prime Minister to Chair the new National Climate Science Advisory Committee.

Catherine Cooper.jpg

Catherine Cooper LLB, GDLP, FAICD

Board Member

Catherine is an experienced NED having served on approximately 50 Board positions over 20 years.

Career highlights include the establishment of a national joint venture Rural Bank, being awarded as a Telstra Business Woman of the Year finalist twice, inclusion in an international management program and more recently winning a position in the ASX Top 200 Chairman’s Mentoring program run by the AICD.


Catherine’s current and past board roles include Wine Australia, Energy Consumers Australia , Beston Global Foods (ASX),  Deputy Chair of Australian Eggs RDC, Animal Health Australia, Chair of SA EPA,  director of the newly formed RACE CRC and as a Commissioner of the Australian Fisheries Management Authority.


Catherine is an experienced Audit Committee Chair and currently holds a number of positions on such committees- her strategic, governance and risk management skills are well established.


Ivor Frischknecht

Board Member

Ivor is an experienced Chief Executive Officer and Non Executive Director with demonstrated success working at the intersection of energy and climate, innovation and investment.


He was responsible of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency and oversaw its $2.1 billion portfolio for 6 years, during which invested in 300+ groundbreaking clean energy projects. He is currently helping to establish CleanCo and C4NET, both as non-executive director.


Simon Smith

Board Member

Simon is now working as a principal consultant and has previously served as CEO/Secretary of large public sector entities across industry policy, vocational education, natural resources, environment, finance and first minister's portfolios.


Simon is a specialist in government decision-making, policy development, regulatory reform and implementation, public sector performance, unsolicited proposals, commercial negotiations, crisis management and problem solving.

bottom of page